E-2 Treaty Investors

The E-2 nonimmigrant visa authorizes a citizen of a treaty country to oversee their investment in the U.S. or work with a U.S. business which is at least 50% owned by citizens of the treaty country.  The visa can be extended every two (2) years without limitation on the total period of stay.  The spouse and minor children may accompany or follow to join the E-2 principal.  Employees from the treaty country, including executives, managers and essential employees are eligible for the E-2 visa.

The E-2 visa requires (1) a treaty allowing investment in the U.S between the U.S. and the country of which the person a national; (2) the investor is a treaty national or a qualifying organization (50% or more owned by treaty nationals); (3) the applicant is actively in the process of investing a substantial amount of capital; (4) entering the U.S. to develop and direct the investment, or entering the U.S. to work in an executive, managerial or “essential employee” capacity; and (5) the U.S. investment is fifty percent (50%) owned by a treaty national or qualifying organization.

The following countries have investment treaties with the United States that qualify for the E-2 visa.  Many other countries qualify for the treaty investment visa.

Argentina; Australia; Austria; Bangladesh; Canada; Colombia, Ecuador; Finland; France; Germany; Greece; Ireland; Italy; Jamaica; Japan; Jordan; Korea; Mexico; the Netherlands; Norway; Pakistan; the Philippines; Romania; Taiwan; Sweden; Switzerland; Thailand; Turkey and the United Kingdom.

Related Posts